The 5 Peaks Challenge is a hill climbing challenge the aim of which is to ascend and descend the highest peak in each of England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales (of the United Kingdom) and the Republic of Ireland within 48 hours, including all travelling, and without breaking national speed limits or recommended driving times. It is an extension of the National Three Peaks Challenge, which includes the highest peaks in England, Scotland and Wales. To facilitate challengers of all levels of fitness the 5 Peaks is more often or not completed in more than 48 hours and many take up to a week to complete the challenge choosing to double it as a challenging holiday rather that an endurance challenge.

The five peaks are:

  • Scafell Pike 978 m (3,208.66 ft), in England
  • Slieve Donard 849 m (2,785.43 ft), in Northern Ireland
  • Carrauntoohil 1,038 m (3,405.51 ft), in the Republic of Ireland
  • Ben Nevis 1,345 m (4,412.73 ft), in Scotland
  • Snowdon 1,085 m (3,559.71 ft), in Wales

Ian McKeever along with Niall Kavanagh, Cathal Cregg and Lorcan Sweetnan set the world record in the Five Peaks Challenge, on 25 June 2004 climbing and descending all five peaks in 16 hours 16 mins. A record which remains intact at present.